Baylor wins first ever NIT championship


Baylor wins first ever NIT championship


Associated Press

Screen Shot 2013-04-05 at 12.28.57 AM

Pierre Jackson has done his best to lead the Baylor team to a not so great 9-9 Big 12 record his hard work has paid off leading the Bears to their first ever NIT Championship title.


Per AP

NEW YORK (AP) — Pierre Jackson had his fourth straight double-double with 17 points and 10 assists to lead Baylor to the first National Invitation Tournament title in school history with a 74-54 win over Iowa on Thursday night.

Cory Jefferson scored 23 points and Isaiah Austin had 15 points and nine rebounds for the Bears (23-14), who reached the tournament final five years ago, but never had won it before.

Mike Gesell led Iowa (25-13) with 13 points and Aaron White had 12. Hawkeyes start Devyn Marble was held to six points.


Recommended for you